SeeBITDAOklahoma

Oklahoma Blood Institute

  • 901 N Lincoln Blvd, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Since 1976
Federal contractor
Reported revenueReported figures
$155.9M
$148.1Mlikely range$163.7M
Revenue
$155.9M
a year
Profit (EBITDA)
$19.9M
13% of revenue
Employees
—
not reported
John Armitage, MD
President and CEO · source

How we got $155.9M

Based on IRS Form 990 (2025).

Reported revenue, IRS Form 990 (2025)$155.9M
× 13% profit margin$19.9M

· Own this business? Correct these figures

What we know

No PPP loan
401(k) filing, 2024
Reported financials
Company website
Owner named
Trucking registration (FMCSA)
Federal contracts

What they do

Oklahoma Blood Institute is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that collects blood donations through donor centers and blood drives. It states that donated blood is needed for emergency transfusions.

Products & services
Donate PlateletsDonor EXPRESSHost a DriveBlood Types
Certifications
501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization

From the company's website. Industry: Doctors & clinics.

Customers & suppliers

Customers

  • Department of Veterans Affairs · federal contracts $9.9M
  • Indian Health Service · federal contracts $452K

Employees over time

▲ 38% since 2020
01k2k202020212022202320248041109
401(k) / retirement-plan participants
Show as table
YearSourceEmployeesEst. revenueEst. EBITDA
2020Form 5500804$124.8M$15.9M
2021Form 5500817$126.8M$16.2M
2022Form 5500903$140.2M$17.9M
2023Form 5500888$137.8M$17.6M
2024Form 55001,109$172.1M$21.9M

Participants are employees in the company's retirement plan at year end, from its Form 5500 filing with the Department of Labor. They usually run a little under total headcount (part-timers and new hires may not be eligible). Revenue and EBITDA apply this industry's revenue per employee and margin to each year's count.

Compared with similar businesses nearby

BusinessEst. revenueEst. profitDistance
Oklahoma Blood Institute
this business
$155.9M$19.9M—
OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center - Cancer Rehabilitation Clinic
Oklahoma City
$927K$200K0.1 mi
MEDUNISON LLC
Oklahoma City · 6 employees
$2.1M$413K0.2 mi
OU Physicians Reproductive Medicine
Oklahoma City
$927K$200K0.2 mi
Presbyterian Health Foundation
Oklahoma City
$927K$200K0.2 mi
OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center – Radiation Therapy
Oklahoma City
$927K$200K0.3 mi
OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center – Transplant & Cellular Therapy Clinic
Oklahoma City
$927K$200K0.3 mi

The full calculation

These are the business's own reported figures, from its IRS Form 990 filing, not an estimate. EBITDA applies the industry margin to reported revenue.

Revenue range$148.1M – $163.7M
EBITDA range$18.9M – $20.9M
Industry (NAICS)Outpatient Care Centers (6214)

EBITDA margin: from IRS tax returns of S corporations in this industry (2019–2022), adjusted for company size: smaller companies typically run higher margins. EBITDA here is after owners' salaries.

Benchmarks: US Economic Census 2022, OK. PPP loans were sized on 2019–2020 payroll, so figures reflect that period. These are statistical estimates, not reported financials. Listing details come from Overture Maps open data. Full methodology

People & advisors

Founded 1976
“We have long been a proud example of The Oklahoma Standard in action.”

Leadership

  • AH
    Amanda Hess
    Chief Progress Officer · Company website · source
  • JK
    John Krischel
    Chief Information Officer · Company website · source
  • DW
    Dr. Walter Linz
    Chief Medical Officer · Company website · source
  • JP
    Jovona Powelson
    Chief Production Officer · Company website · source
  • JR
    Justin Redwine
    Chief Technology Officer · Company website · source
  • RS
    Randy Stark
    Chief Financial Officer · Company website · source
  • MF
    Marlena Frye
    Vice President, Donor Services · Company website · source
  • TK
    Tammy Kirkwood
    Vice President, Operational Resilience · Company website · source
  • LM
    Laura McClannan
    Vice President, Quality Management · Company website · source
  • JM
    Joseph McNeil
    Vice President of Human Resources · Company website · source
  • CM
    Charles Mooney
    Vice President, BioDevelopment · Company website · source

Advisors

  • AccountingForvis Mazars, LLPAudits its 401(k) plan (2024 filing)
  • AccountingForvis Mazars LLPPrepared its Form 990

From the company's own website and public filings (DOL Form 5500, IRS Form 990, SBA). Roles are as stated there and may be out of date.

Public records

IRS Form 990
Nonprofit
Revenue (2025)$155.9M
Assets$119.9M
Tax-exempt since1977
Federal contracts
USAspending.gov
Total, recent years$10.4M
FY2027$1.6M
FY2026$2.4M
FY2025$1.9M
FY2024$1.3M
DOT motor carrier
USDOT 2071723
Trucks (power units)28
Drivers28
Miles (2025)350,000
Registered with DOT2010

Matched to this business by name and address from public government data; a match can occasionally be wrong.

About Oklahoma Blood Institute

Oklahoma Blood Institute is a doctors & clinics company in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, in business since 1976. It is owned by John Armitage, MD (President and CEO). Its reported annual revenue is about $155.9M, with roughly $19.9M of EBITDA. It has about 1,109 employees.

Common questions

Who owns Oklahoma Blood Institute?
Oklahoma Blood Institute is owned by John Armitage, MD (President and CEO), according to public sources such as the company's website or filings.
How much revenue does Oklahoma Blood Institute make?
Oklahoma Blood Institute reported revenue of about $155.9M.
How many employees does Oklahoma Blood Institute have?
About 1,109, from its 2024 retirement-plan filing.
When was Oklahoma Blood Institute founded?
Oklahoma Blood Institute has been in business since 1976.